Saturday, December 15, 2018

Ready to Pull the Retirement Trigger?: Your Strategic Guide to Retire With Confidence by Mary Sterk ASIN: B06WVGXWNQ



If you are a parent of any child who is old enough to talk, you have probably heard that age-old question, “Are we there, yet?”  By now you have probably contemplated your retirement and want to know for yourself, “Are we there yet?”

What if you and your spouse have different ideas about retirement?  What if you want to keep working and your significant other wants to cruise around the world?


Most people as they approach retirement age are faced with the question about whether or not they will outlive their money.  There are ways to answer that question. This book will help you.

You have heard of low load funds, no load funds, and other types of funds.  It is enough to make one want to get loaded. But, you don’t have to. You just need to know what questions to ask and whom to ask.

Ready to Pull the Retirement Trigger? Isn’t one of those one trick ponies that trumpets one financial plan in a one-size-fits-all format.  Readers are given some basic information and questions to ask themselves to lead them to ways to find a solution.

Once you read Ready to Pull the Retirement Trigger?, you will have a better grasp of what you need to know before you retire.  We think it is very important for anyone who is contemplating retirement.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book in the Kindle Format.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.



McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Friday, December 14, 2018

Giving It All Away…and Getting It All Back Again: The Way of Living Generously by David Green and Bill High ISBN: 978-0-310-34794-1

 


By now you have heard countless times that, “You can’t outgive God.”  This is the story of how David Green and Hobby Lobby tried to out give God and failed.  Maybe you should try it sometime.

Giving It All Away…and Getting It All Back Again: The Way of Living Generously by David Green and Bill High takes readers through Green’s early years as a child all the way up to where he is now.

One great thing about Giving it All Away is that it fits on almost all of the blogs and YouTube Channels we have.  It is a book about business, so it fits on Redneck MBA. It is a book about religion and especially tithing, so it fits all kind of ways on How to Manage Your Monkey.  It is a book so, of course, it fits on Book Reviews by Bird. And everything fits on Random Thoughts and Observations so, it fits there.

This book is a wonderful story of how Hobby Lobby took on the “guvment”, as we rednecks say, and won. But it is mostly a story about giving back.  It shares how a large Pentecostal Holiness family gave much more than their due and inspired their children to do the same.

Hobby Lobby makes such a great juxtaposition to Walmart it is uncanny.  A comparison and contrast between the two companies would make a great case study, thesis, or dissertation.  

Walmart is all about the mighty dollar.  They squeeze every vendor to get a better deal and leave the vendor with less. Hobby Lobby make sure everyone gets a fair deal.

Walmart runs all over their employees. Walmart employees have to work Thanksgiving or be fired.  Hobby Lobby is closed on Sunday. Walmart is open 24/7/364. Hobby Lobby closes at 8 PM so their employees can spend time with their families.

Hobby Lobby is so supportive of a person’s right to life that they took on the U. S. Government, and WON. Walmart sells the “morning after pill” on their sales floor.  The Walton family is/was allegedly Christian, but the stores Sam left behind don’t reflect it in any way.

What would the world look like if EVERY company displayed true Christian values like Hobby Lobby?

Giving it All Away would make a great small group Bible study for your church.  It would make a great book for your chamber of commerce to distribute to all its members so that members could read it and see that it works to put God in control of your business, large or small.

We really cannot say enough about Giving it All Away.


We purchased Giving it All Away for our personal library.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Innercise: The New Science to Unlock Your Brain's Hidden Power by John Assaraf



If you have ever wondered why you break your New Year’s Resolutions very early, drop your diet, or stop exercising regularly, Innercise: The New Science to Unlock Your Brain's Hidden Power by John Assaraf may help you to answer those questions.

In this book, Assaraf explains the inner workings of the mind and why our brains override our plans.  He also gives us answers to how we can overcome this problem.

You aren’t broken, just human, which sometimes is the same thing.

The author uses a hybrid of NLP, LOA, Self-Hypnosis, Mindfulness, and other disciplines to help his readers learn ways to change the patterns of self-sabotage.

Innercise is well written and takes the time to explain the science and psychology behind his methods. We like this book because it is compatible with the Christian faith.

You will want to read this book before you make your New Year’s Resolutions.  Order your copy today and feel better, soon.



We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
Buy From Amazon: https://amzn.to/2rt2NWD



McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Monday, December 3, 2018

Code Name: Papa Book 2: My Extraordinary Life While Hiding in Plain Sight by John Murray ISBN: 978-0-9994502-5-3




One thing that makes me sad is that the nature of this book excludes it from some of our blogs.  It won’t fit the business, personal finance, or religious categories, which means some of our followers won’t get to know about how wonderful Code Name: Papa Book 2: My Extraordinary Life While Hiding in Plain Sight by John Murray really is.

This is book two in the series. We have not read Book One, yet. We hope to.

This is a very different kind of spy thriller. The main reason is that it is all true. When one reads fiction, you pretty much know exactly what is going to happen.  This is not so when you deal with cold, hard facts.

The stories are excellent and very entertaining.  This is the kind of book that makes one walk into walls.  You know, you don’t want to stop reading, but you really have to do other things, too.  You don’t put the book down (until you have to) and then, smash, right into the wall. Maybe this book should come with a danger warning.

If you love a good spy vs spy book, Code Name: Papa: Book 2 can’t be beat.  This will make a great gift for that military buff, history buff, or avid reader on your list.  A serious word of warning: if you are claustrophobic, you will want to refrain from reading this book.

Grab several copies today and start doling them out.  


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Flourish Financially: Values, Transitions, & Big Conversations by Kathy Longo CFP®




By now readers of our How to Manage Your Monkey blog know we read and review hundreds of books on personal finance and financial planning. We would have to say that
Flourish Financially: Values, Transitions, & Big Conversations by Kathy Longo CFP® is a very different book on the subject.

Whereas most books focus on the nuts and bolts, the undercarriage of your financial condition, this book is focused more on the person and their loved ones and not so much on the portfolio per se.

In this book, readers are treated to ideas about how to open up a dialogue with those involved in the financial planning and find out who they are and why they make financial decisions the way that they do.

You won’t be hammered in the head with such things as how to balance your portfolio.  Why should the author do this when she points out that every person is different and their needs and comfort levels with different investments must be considered?

Longo discusses how to teach children about finances at an early age, how to open conversations with adult children regarding the parents’ finances, and how those adult children should open a dialog with their parents before there is a crisis regarding key financial decisions, where the important papers are, what types of insurance are in place, and medical care decisions.

Our only problem when Longo discusses a spending plan, AKA budget, is that she does not mention tithe.  Giving to charity is completely different than paying a tithe. A tithe is ten percent of your gross income, given first.  It should be paid to your home church and only there.

The author does discuss giving and does a good job explaining different ways to give.

We really think that every adult should read  Flourish Financially.  You will want to give a copy of this to your parents and adult children.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


Buy From Amazon: https://amzn.to/2PbKnDa


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Sunday, December 2, 2018

300 Best Potato Recipes: A Complete Cook’s Guide by Kathleen Sloan-McIntosh ISBN: 978-0-7788-0278-5




Our family is mostly Irish.  Therefore, we love anything to do with a potato.  This is why 300 Best Potato Recipes: A Complete Cook’s Guide by Kathleen Sloan-McIntosh was such a great book for us.

Not only are there all kinds of easy to follow recipes in this book, there are also a lot of “fun facts” about the potato.  There is sort or a Ripley’s Believe It Or Else” section in the front of the book where readers are treated to some little known facts about the potato.

These recipes are easy to follow with a good bit of detail for each recipe.  It makes following the steps so easy even a husband could follow them.

We think you will love 300 Best Potato Recipes like we do.  We give it all five stars and a slab of bacon.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.



McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Saturday, December 1, 2018

The One Year Daily Insights with Zig Ziglar by Zig Ziglar and Dwight "Ike" Reighard




For some time now, The One Year Daily Insights with Zig Ziglar by Zig Ziglar and Dwight "Ike" Reighard has been a part of our lives here at McClendon Villa.  We would love to tell you that we read it every day, but that would not be the case; we do slip up from time to time.

We love the way this devotion has a different devotion for every day of the year, except February 29.  On leap day, we just have to read the devotion for a different day twice that year. That also makes it a good day to catch up on any that got missed due to life’s challenges.

We believe this devotion written, in part, by the inspirational Zig Ziglar, makes a great source for daily devotions to be read together by the whole family, including pets.

And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
Mark 16:15 KJV

He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.
Mark 16:15 NIV


These devotions, like most others, are short and to the point.  This makes it good for reading to the family since those young ones with short attention spans aren’t apt to lose focus during the reading.

We have been big fans of the late Zig Ziglar for many years and are glad that he put his time, along with that of Dwight "Ike" Reighard, into creating this book for us.

This would make a lovely gift for anyone, especially in the imitation leather binding.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.
Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


 

McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress