Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Mind over Memes: Passive Listening, Toxic Talk, and Other Modern Language Follies by Diana Senechal ISBN: 978-1538115169

When I first heard the description of Mind over Memes: Passive Listening, Toxic Talk, and Other Modern Language Follies by Diana Senechal, I thought that it would be a book about how low this generation has sunk regarding its language skills.

I figured that the author would be discussing things like how we now refer to “ as double quotation marks.  Or, that we would hear about phrases like, “I know, right?” when it is obvious we think it is correct because we were the one who just said whatever the speaker is remarking about.

I was sort of lost in the introduction when the author began to comment about Donald Trump.  My thought is, “If one intends to make a political statement, shouldn’t they disclose that in the book description?”

I am of the mind that if I pay to see a football game, I pay to see the players play and not make a political statement.  If I pay to see a play, I don’t expect to hear a political statement.

After reading a while longer, I felt even stronger that the author used bait and switch to talk more about her political views.  She didn’t just go after the far right; she also when after the extreme left, so it was fair and balanced.

All this aside, there is a lot to think about when reading this book.  A good bit of what this book causes us to ponder is why such things are the way they seem to be.

Who hasn’t heard an alleged scholar say, “The research has shown...”?  They generally do this when they know they don’t have any real evidence to back them up.  This is very much how someone who has no argument will do by making a joke about the opposition, which proves nothing about the subject at hand.  An example would be an episode of Murphy Brown when the character Myles says, “Reaganomics, a joke”. He never said why he thought it was a joke.

Readers are also told about how “Team” has become overused. The author is spot on with this one.

If Mind over Memes was written for the common man or the good ole’ down home redneck, it missed its mark.  There are many words that are complex which were used when a much simpler term could have been used.  This makes it a not-so-readable book.


Overall, Mind over Memes will make you think and stretch your mind just a little.  It is good book for those looking for subjects of scholarly debate.  You probably won’t hear it discussed down at Joe’s Bait & Tackle Shop and All Night Taco Stand. You may hear it discussed when a couple of winos get together at their wine and cheese party and discuss books that are designed to impress the other guests.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.
Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

The Gifted Journey: Five Transformative Steps to Uncovering Your Unique Path by Stephanie Moore ISBN: 9780999625880



If you are struggling with who you are and wondering who you are meant to be, The Gifted Journey: Five Transformative Steps to Uncovering Your Unique Path by Stephanie Moore may help you find the answers.

This book is designed to help you through different steps to finding what you intend to be in each part of you life.  

Are you meant to be a singer?  Are you meant to be the next great poet?  Regardless of where your passion in life lies, the book will help you realize that your entire life has been spent pursuing this goal, you just didn’t know it.

We highly recommend The Gifted Journey to help you find your balance or, as we say at How to Manage Your Monkey, your life recipe.  This book is well-written and well-thought out. We think you should give this to everyone on your gift giving list.



We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.
Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Monday, November 19, 2018

Gut Health Diet for Beginners: A 7-Day Plan to Heal Your Gut and Boost Digestive Health by Kitty Martone ISBN: 978-1-64152-235-9



You have probably said many times over, “I just have a gut feeling”. The thing is, you are not that far off. By now you have heard all about keeping your gut healthy and why.

Gut Health Diet for Beginners: A 7-Day Plan to Heal Your Gut and Boost Digestive Health by Kitty Martone will help you understand a little more about keeping your gut healthy.

This book is easy to follow and understand.  It has many mouth-watering recipes, including Shrimp Scampi and how to make it or a chicken alternative to it, as if you would want to make that substitution!

We think that Gut Health will make a great Christmas, or anytime, gift for just about anyone on your gift list.



We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


Please Visit My Child Bride Suzanne's Blog



McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Nanny in the Nursery by LM Azpiazu ISBN: 9781974144921



If you are tired of the books that are available for children these days, Nanny in the Nursery by LM Azpiazu  may well be for you.

This collection reminds me very much of the collections I grew up with. The book does offer fresh poems and stories but, it doesn’t lean so heavy on the graphics.  Don’t get me wrong, the graphics are there and they are very good. Too often today we see books published that rely too much on the colorful pictures and don’t give the child anything to imagine.

If you really want to help your child stretch their imagination like kids used to do, Nanny in the Nursery is the book for you.

We like it because it talks to children about using their minds.  We think this is a very refreshing and outstanding way to help your child learn to learn.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Friday, November 9, 2018

Book Review: Creating Sales Stars: A Guide to Managing the Millennials on Your Team by Stephan Schiffman with Gary Krebs ISBN: 978-0-8144-3938-8

Many of we baby boomers see the Millennial Generation as a bunch of work-brittle, entitled, lazy, people who expect to be paid for not working. Many of us have experienced this first hand.

In the book Creating Sales Stars: A Guide to Managing the Millennials on Your Team by Stephan Schiffman with Gary Krebs, we are told that nothing could be further from the truth.

So, the question here is, do you trust what you see and experience or what an author tells you is the truth?

Readers are also told why we should adapt our way of looking at this generation.  The tone of the book appears to be, “Just deal with it”. We are given a lot of WHY we should just deal with it and only a little of HOW to deal with it.

There may be a little truth to what the author teaches. The fact remains that we are in a job seekers’ market because this generation switches jobs often and expects to be paid well while being trained. This book could well make the case that we have developed a new career, “Trainee”. Meanwhile, more and more jobs go overseas to places where people WILL work.

The book is well written and does provide some excellent advice.  However, reading this book won’t solve your problem. What it will do is make you feel a lot less empowered and, if you are the owner of a company, will probably make you want to close up shop or move to another country.

In the book, the author speaks of how ethical this generation is.  There may be some validity to that but, readers should trust what they see in the real world and not what they read in a book.  This is the same generation that often cheated on tests in college and also expected good college grades for very subpar work.

We can only give this book a mediocre rating and very little in the way of recommendation.  This isn’t so much because the writing is flawed; it isn’t. We give it an average rating because the premise is flawed.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Thursday, November 8, 2018

BRAIN HACKS: Life-Changing Strategies to Improve Executive Functioning by Lara Honos-Webb PhD ISBN: 978-1-64152-1-604



Recently we have been asked to review many books regarding brain health and/or brain functioning.  The overall opinion of all these brain experts is that there are things we can do to improve our brain functioning.

One thing that seems to be absent in BRAIN HACKS: Life-Changing Strategies to Improve Executive Functioning by Lara Honos-Webb PhD is how important diet and nutrition are in our brain health.

Other than that, the advice in this book seems to support all the other information we have read.

The book presents readers with multiple ways to increase our brain function.  All of these hacks are simple to do and, for most of them, no one will know you are doing them. That way you can improve and no one has to know you perceived you had a problem.

Brain Hacks is well-written and well-presented. As we age, we can expect some diminishing of brain function.  This book can help you avoid that.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
Buy on Amazon https://amzn.to/2DlwFfy 


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Book Review: The Anti-Inflammatory Diet Slow Cooker Cookbook: Prep-and-Go Recipes for Long-Term Healing by Madeline Given NC ISBN: 978-1-64152-251-9



The beginning of the book explains a lot about anti-inflammatory eating and what should make up a good part of our diet.

We live in a fast-paced world where everyone eats fast on-the-go.  The book will help with that. Instead of grabbing a quick burger from the local fast food drive thru, we can have a hot, delicious, healthy meal.

Prep time is kept to a minimum and most of the cooking takes place slowly while we are doing other things. If you don’t have enough time to fix the recipes in this book, you don’t have enough time to go tell a clown head what you want to eat, either.

We think you will really like The Anti-Inflammatory Diet Slow Cooker Cookbook.  It will make a great present for any would be cook on your list.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.
Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress